Year End: Portfolio Makeover

Continuing with my audit, I would like to present how I have reworked on my portfolio over a period of time. To provide a better perspective, I would start from 2014 upto present. The readers may be interested to know that I had a personal goal to ensure that I was loan free by December 31, 2013, which we achieved by tightening some strings. This also meant that I removed most of my equity investments to fund this objective and hence, it would be prudent and accurate to say that I restarted / rebooted my investment journey from January 1, 2014.

Portfolio – December 31, 2014

p2014

This is more of a real-estate/immovable property centric portfolio. However, the work had begun to re-balance it over a period of time and results are apparent in the subsequent sections.

Portfolio – December 31, 2015

p2015

Equity investments improved, but still Immovable property and Debt instruments took a large portion of the same. This made my resolve much more stronger to re-balance strongly in the coming year.

Portfolio – December 25, 2016

p2016

After some strong re-balancing, I have got equities to joint no. 2 with provident fund. In the coming years, equities will surpass the debt instruments and hopefully  will become my no. 1 asset class.

Some points to note:

  • The total AUM i.e. assets kept growing every year as fresh investments continued. This meant that the amount required to change the percentage is much much higher.
  • The immovable assets category DO NOT include the house I reside in.

Comments/Thoughts/Feedback/Suggestions are most welcome.

One thought on “Year End: Portfolio Makeover

Leave a Reply

